Intentions

I began writing down daily intentions about 6 months ago… and it completely changed my outlook on life. What I have realized is, that everything comes down to perspective. You wake up and realize you forgot to buy coffee yesterday after you ran out; your car starts making a funny noise; or your boss won’t stop criticizing you. Life comes down to perspective. You have one of two choices, to view these daily occurrences as negative or positive. Its a choice to view these events as terrible inconveniences that will ruin your day. Or you can chose to view these events as speed bumps in your day. The same goes for life’s larger obstacles. Even the most negative experience can be turned into a positive learning opportunity through perspective.

Obviously this practice is much harder said than done. Which is why I am in the practice of setting a daily intention.

A daily intention is a word or a phrase that you can remind yourself of when your day is not running smoothly. It is a practicing of grounding yourself and harnessing the choice of perspective. More often than not my daily intention is to practice patience. Working in a classroom with 22 two and three year olds requires an abundance of patience and when I lose that patience, not only does it ruin the children’s days but it ruins mine as well. So in those moments of total chaos, I take a deep breath and remind myself to have patience.

It is an ongoing practice that does get easier over time. I have found in my life when I set my day up with an intention my perspective is completely shifted. I don’t sweat the small day to day obstacles. Rather, I face these obstacles with a new perspective and ground my day in my intention.

Life’s Loves

My challenge for you is to keep a journal for one week, while setting daily intentions. At the end of each day write down the obstacles that came up for you and how you shifted your attention back to your intention. By tracking your days you will be able to see what a difference intentions make in your day! 

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close