Gratitude

As I sit and enjoy the last few days of summer, blissful and carefree, I am filled with so much gratitude! All of the amazing trips to a cottage by the lake, weekends with loved ones, catching up with friends, and celebrating new love; my heart is so full!

IMG_0002

Daily gratitude became a practice of mine many months ago as a reminder that there is something to be grateful for everyday. Even amongst the disappointment, let downs and chaos there is ALWAYS something to be grateful for or someone to give gratitude to. And let me tell you, this is a life. Changing. Practice.

I’ve always believed myself to be a positive, optimistic person. The glass is half full outlook on life. But, daily gratitudes have completely transformed my outlook. Knowing at the end of the day I am going to write down what I am grateful for makes me so excited. As things happen throughout the day, I capture them in mind and tell myself this needs to be apart of my gratitudes! The practice keeps you accountable, but it also brings so much joy. It is literally a transformative experience. I was listening to a Jen Hatmaker podcast on my way to work one day and her guest was talking about how important it is to change your perception. By doing so, your brain chemistry changes too and you wire yourself to start thinking in a positive way. I immediately thought of my daily gratitude practice and how positively true it is. My outlook on life has completely changed. No matter what I am dealing with that day there is ALWAYS something to be grateful for. Big or little.

I keep a bullet journal where I record my daily gratitudes and at the end of each season I like to write out highlights. So, I thought it would be fun to share them with all of you! Here are my top 5 highlights of this season:

  1. Getting engaged!!! That’s right, I get to marry my best friend and spend our lives happily ever after.
  2. Our best friend moving back from Alberta and spending all of our time with she and her fiancee this summer.
  3. Camping with our friends
  4. Blissful, relaxing summer days
  5. Being re-energized by the lake.

IMG_0040

Of course I have so much to be grateful for this summer, but I wanted to share just a few of my favourites from this season. A while back, I challenged my readers to write out daily intentions, and now I would like to challenge all of you to follow daily gratitudes!

xoxo,

Life’s Loves

Challenge: Share with me your top 5 highlights of this season!

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close